Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Full Registered User
    Reputation
    150

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Share
    i dont know much about that sort of thing, but if you install teamviewer on you computer at home you can control you computer from any other computer in the world which would allow you to see you cameras you can also download an app for the iphone so you could view it on the go if you had that phone and best of all its free

  2. #12
    Full Registered User
    Reputation
    10

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Ossett
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Sorry to hijack this thread. securonic you said you have installed these DVR's before? do you know how to get the the HDMI signal to work?

    Cheers Ian

  3. #13
    Full Registered User
    Reputation
    90
    jhonnysentry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Tom, i'm live in Winsford but all my family's over in Ellesmere port
    Find a net connection that is stable and I prefer wired not wireless because it sucks when it rains.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    10

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi guys,
    This is my first post and i have a similar problem with the apollo dvr. The complete system works and i have had it running effortlessly for a while. However when i upgraded to windows 7 and internet explorer 8 i just cant get the damn thing to open at all, either on any of the networked computers in the office or remotely over the internet. It gets as far as a blank screen with the apollo dvr wording at the top. Initially a message appeared saying an unsigned activex control was blocked. I allowed this to be downloaded (webrec.cab) but to no avail. Anybody got any ideas which security settings i need to deisable to get the damn thing running again?

  5. #15
    Longterm Registered User My location
    Reputation
    2030
    tomengineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Chester
    Posts
    528

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glasgowboy View Post
    Hi guys,
    This is my first post and i have a similar problem with the apollo dvr. The complete system works and i have had it running effortlessly for a while. However when i upgraded to windows 7 and internet explorer 8 i just cant get the damn thing to open at all, either on any of the networked computers in the office or remotely over the internet. It gets as far as a blank screen with the apollo dvr wording at the top. Initially a message appeared saying an unsigned activex control was blocked. I allowed this to be downloaded (webrec.cab) but to no avail. Anybody got any ideas which security settings i need to deisable to get the damn thing running again?

    hi. have you tried running your pc in admin mode before downloading active x

    I.E at the bottom left of your screen right mouse click and click run as administrator.
    Last edited by tomengineer; 14-02-2011 at 11:59.

  6. #16
    Longterm Registered User
    Reputation
    462

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glasgowboy View Post
    Hi guys,
    This is my first post and i have a similar problem with the apollo dvr. The complete system works and i have had it running effortlessly for a while. However when i upgraded to windows 7 and internet explorer 8 i just cant get the damn thing to open at all, either on any of the networked computers in the office or remotely over the internet. It gets as far as a blank screen with the apollo dvr wording at the top. Initially a message appeared saying an unsigned activex control was blocked. I allowed this to be downloaded (webrec.cab) but to no avail. Anybody got any ideas which security settings i need to deisable to get the damn thing running again?
    Hi there

    IE8 can be a little funny with these things so there are a couple of work-arounds that you can/have to do. Please note, I'm not overly familiar with your DVR, but what I'm going to detail below is for Internet Explorer in general.

    Here are a couple of settings changes that might help.

    1. First of all, open Internet Explorer. Click Tools (top right hand corner) and choose Internet Options. This will bring up a window with 6 or 7 tabs across the top, the second of which is 'Security'. Click this one. Towards the bottom of that screen, there is a button 'Custom Level'. Click this. Somewhere in that long list of settings will be one 'Download unsigned ActiveX controls'. Ensure this one is set to Prompt. Then click Ok.

    Close all the windows open and try again.

    If this doesn't work, the next thing to try:

    2. Go back to the security tab. There are 4 images across the top of that window now. The third of which is 'Trusted Sites' under a green tick. Click the green tick. Now, the Sites button becomes active. Click this sites button. At the bottom of the window that pops up, there is a little check box 'Require server verification (https for all sites in this zone'. Ensure this is NOT ticked. In the box at the top of the window, enter whatever you would normally type in the address bar to access the DVR (e.g. an IP address). Then click the add button followed by Close. Now, with the trusted sites selected, do 1 (above) again - this is setting the settings for the trusted sites.

    Get out and try again.

    Those would be what I would try to start with. Windows 7 has something inbuilt called User Access Control which really does get in the way of this type of thing trying to protect you!

    Good luck and let me know how you get on - if you're still struggling, drop me a quick PM.

    Cheers

    Matt

  7. #17
    Longterm Registered User My location
    Reputation
    2030
    tomengineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Chester
    Posts
    528

    Default

    never on windows open unsigned ActiveX controls' in internet options this will allow allsorts past your pc security.


    as you are getting the apollo screen on your desktop then you have no need to go into trusted sites. if it is on your desktop its got past that point anyway.


    just right click I.E run as administrator and it will load no problem.


    you should never have to change security settings on a pc just to view a dvr.

  8. #18
    Longterm Registered User
    Reputation
    462

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tomengineer View Post
    never on windows open unsigned ActiveX controls' in internet options this will allow allsorts past your pc security.

    you should never have to change security settings on a pc just to view a dvr.
    What nonsense! Both parts!

    What the sensible thing to do is have the unsigned ActiveX controls to PROMPT as opposed to ALLOW. If it was set to allow, then you would be spot on. If Prompt, then you can make the call. It doesn't just allow 'allsorts past your pc security' - that is total scaremongering. Nothing more, nothing less and really makes me quite angry that you would try to suggest something like that.

    There is something inbuilt to Windows Vista and Windows 7 called User Access Control (as I said in my previous post) and that is designed to stop anything web-based to write any information to the hard drive to stop any malicious software from running. This not only stops malicious software from running, but also stops some legitimate software from running - when I was in Libya, they have military road blocks every so often. They stop people passing through on the off chance of catching bad guys. Some good guys get caught up in this. This is the same thing. So, for the good guys, they have to devise a way to let them through (passports, papers etc). This is the same thing with the UAC - what you have to do sometimes is tell it not to worry.

    If you read the chaps post:

    Quote Originally Posted by glasgowboy View Post
    Initially a message appeared saying an unsigned activex control was blocked.
    You will see that there could potentially be an issue with an unsigned ActiveX control (odd that - it's what he says!) and that's what I've replied and answered to try to help him out...as opposed to seemingly randomly criticising other posters also trying to help...

    One final thing of note - suggesting that the fellow disables a large chunk of security features inbuilt into IE by 'running as an administrator' would actually be more dangerous as it just removes a load of these security features across the board as opposed to only removing them for certain sites/ip addresses. Hmmm...

  9. #19
    Super Moderator My location
    Reputation
    8204
    Visioneer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    6,441

    Default

    Variants of Activex are an inherent part of some systems, no problem with authorising it, IF you know your hardware etc has come from a reputable source.

    Some of our kit is built around Bosch Vipex, or other codecs, and its a pain in the blooody arse every time !
    It may be better to be a live jackal than a dead lion, but it is better still to be a live lion. And usually easier. - Lazarus Long

    jim@visionimpossible.biz

  10. #20
    Longterm Registered User My location
    Reputation
    2030
    tomengineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Chester
    Posts
    528

    Default

    opening active x unsigned in internet options . can still get blocked if you have antivirus software on your pc i.e norton so you will have to also switch off any firewall protection you have. under run as administrator you dont need to.
    and just to point out running as administrator resets its self after the down load has done.

    if you are not happy doing both i will send you a new active x for windows 7 for your apollo

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •