Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Full Registered User Country:
    Reputation
    10

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8

    Question How to most easily turn on/off IP Camera systems?

    Share
    Hi all,

    I'm new to the forum and am working on a home project to create a small IP CCTV alarm system.

    The plan is based around using an old smartphone as an IP CCTV camera.
    An app on the phone can stream the video feed to the internet.
    Also another app can can detect movement in the video and trigger an email etc.

    So the question is, what is the best way to turn the system on/off?
    My solutions so far are to cover the camera when at home or turn off the phone/apps.

    Does anyone have any suggestions or experience with this sort of setup?

    Thanks in advance!
    Danny

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Country: My location
    Reputation
    8251
    Visioneer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    6,518

    Default

    Pull the battery.
    It may be better to be a live jackal than a dead lion, but it is better still to be a live lion. And usually easier. - Lazarus Long

    jim@visionimpossible.biz

  3. #3
    Full Registered User Country:
    Reputation
    10

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Visioneer View Post
    Pull the battery.
    Thanks but thats more hassle than covering the camera.

    I was hoping more for some kind of solution that could involve using a wireless doorbell to trigger the system or something like that?
    Last edited by supermoocow; 15-08-2013 at 12:11.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Country: My location
    Reputation
    8251
    Visioneer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    6,518

    Default

    Any number of wireless triggers around....but phones lack input :-(

    Sent from my GT-I8160 using Tapatalk 2
    It may be better to be a live jackal than a dead lion, but it is better still to be a live lion. And usually easier. - Lazarus Long

    jim@visionimpossible.biz

  5. #5
    Full Registered User Country:
    Reputation
    10

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thanks, I might have to stick with the dish cloth over the camera lens for now lol!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Country: My location
    Reputation
    8251
    Visioneer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    6,518

    Default

    Much, much easier to use some form of wireless IP camera, running VMD.

    Y-cam family will do the job.

    If no wifi network available, try dear old Stan at Simcam: http://www.simcams.co.uk/ If he's still around. Link seems to be busted.

    V
    It may be better to be a live jackal than a dead lion, but it is better still to be a live lion. And usually easier. - Lazarus Long

    jim@visionimpossible.biz

  7. #7
    Full Registered User Country:
    Reputation
    10

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thanks V.

    The mobile phone is essentially functioning as wireless IP camera running VMD.
    It's an old HTC desire worth about 50 but has an excellent HD camera compared to most IP CCTV cameras.

    So in theory it should have the same if not more capabilities than a standard IP camera.
    But I guess some of the standard IP cameras might have some options for turning it on/off easier.
    Do you know how the y-cam family turn on/off their systems?

    Cheers,

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Country: My location
    Reputation
    8251
    Visioneer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    6,518

    Default

    Stays on.

    I'll have a 12vdc 'in-line' time switch, within next week or so,which will switch any battery kit on/off, for predetermined hours.

    V
    It may be better to be a live jackal than a dead lion, but it is better still to be a live lion. And usually easier. - Lazarus Long

    jim@visionimpossible.biz

  9. #9
    Full Registered User Country:
    Reputation
    10

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hmm I've got remotely controlled power switches which I could use to turn the system on and off I guess.
    I just have to make sure it boots up cleanly etc.

    Thanks for the help :-)

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Country: My location
    Reputation
    8251
    Visioneer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Northants
    Posts
    6,518

    Default

    If it's android phone, by time things booted up, found network, sent alert...your thief is in CashConvertors !
    It may be better to be a live jackal than a dead lion, but it is better still to be a live lion. And usually easier. - Lazarus Long

    jim@visionimpossible.biz

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •