Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Extreme alertness in security

shogunronin

Full Registered User
I have been doing security now for the past four years. In this time I have grinded and scratched my way to getting better. It's taken a long time to get to a certain skill level and I like to always go beyond the criteria.

I wondered if anyone else has developed this weird side effect of working hard in security. I seem to have this extreme alertness. I remember in my first security job, whenever my attention was broken a member of staff would snap their fingers at me. It got to a point where I had to report them although it never seized. This happened for about two years non stop..

I then started noticing something.. my alertness was getting very extreme. I've reached a point now where I can look at an area for about two hours without ever breaking concentration. In this time I can pin point potential shoplifters, profiling people who have a high potential to commit crime. People tell me that I have this weird stare when I look..it's hard to describe.. its almost like im looking far away but im able to see whats infront of me as well. I seem to zone out.

I used to hate it when my old employers did this but honestly looking back I am so thankful that they did it. Because of this im usually the first person to call up multiple potential incidents (which then happen) and my performance is now very high..

Wondered if anyone else developed this weird skillset when working in security?

Ronin

Last edited:

MrBlonde

Longterm Registered User
Your eye has two types of visual receptors - centre is for colour and detail (what you're looking directly at) and surrounding picks up movement best so your 'static gaze' is just the most efficient way to 'take it all in'.