Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

How many hours standing do you do?

humadoon

Full Registered User
Hi
I was wondering how many hours standing in your job is?
I work as a corporate front of house officer for a major bank and i stand for 8 hours minimum in my 12 hours shift and i work 5 days a week.
We stand military style :/
Any tips to make it easier

ops1

Longterm Registered User
Your back will play up later in life, TRUST ME. See if you can sit for longer periods, or find a different job.

pyyp1980

Full Registered User
Hi,

I would stand with knee slightly bent and hips slightly rolled forward. A little like a pelvic thrust. It will kill your legs until you get used to it but will strengthen them and save your back.

the back and leg position is something essential to tai chi.

The skill is not letting people see you standing like that because they'll think you're mental.

Regards,

Pete

humadoon

Full Registered User
I have tried many times to reason with our managers but they are not willing to listen. Don't want to leave my job currently as job market is not very good :/

mantracan

Full Registered User
It may be worth keeping a diary then in case you do develop back problems. The fact that you've approached them and they've shown no interest is evidence of their intransigence.

Pyrene

Longterm Registered User
good shoes, good socks.
feet care is important. Powder your feet, tend to blisters.
Get a good sole for your shoe

find alternative positions to stand in (like the one above, i am going to try that out this weekend!!)

portokiwi

Longterm Registered User
good insoles for your shoes our boot, alternate your footwear if you can and comfy scocks.
do slight streatching of your toes and feet while standing and keep your feet clean and dry.