Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Reserve Defence Forces vs PDF in matter of experience

MateCh

Full Registered User
Hi All,

I work as a commercial security officer. Im doing my CP course with fire arms next month and i also applied for Reserve Defence Forces here in Ireland.

In RDF i will have 2 weeks of full military training every year plus other duties number of times per month.

Today,Permanent Defence Forces started their recruitment campaign. I always had interest in army and i believe would fit very well in there and also this is my last bell,as im 24 y/o and max age to join is 25.

The thing is im happy enough with my current job and im earning quiet bit more than freshly recruited soldier. Normally it would not matter to me,but i have to think about my family.

My plan was to complete CP course and spend number of years in RDF,gain experience and training necessary to find decent job as a CPO,while working as security.

Question is: When applying for a CPO Jobs,does it make several difference if i have 5 years PDF experience or 5 years in RDF?

Whats your opinion? Thanks in advance.

MrBlonde

Longterm Registered User
Depends on the CP role and the whim of the client.
Some roles need Military background (hostile for example) so the better your army background the better the chance of getting it.

Some corporate stuff you're protecting a guy who has strong views on what he wants, and that's an ex-Mil guy, regardless of whether that's what he needs, it's what he wants and he's paying, and typically they won't really be bothered if you're reserve or not, if you tick the box then you make it past the first round, then it's down to what else you offer and if he likes you.

Some corporate stuff doesn't need Mil background at all, I don't have one and I'm doing quite well :)