Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

when i run

Pyrene

Longterm Registered User
now i dont mean when i run for the bus, but when i go for a run, like of an evening, intention of going out to burn some fat and get the chest going.

When i go for these runs, which today is a fine example, my right shoulder really starts to play up. Serious pain. So bad I cant run with it in so much pain (the swinging motion). 9/10 my right shoulder (never left) really gets into pain, just off to socket towards the neck.

any ideas what it could be or what i could do to prevent it.
I need to stay (get!) fit, as my medical the other day I was 2stone heavier than i thought...!

Cheers P

mts

Mate, i'm not a doctor. It sounds like you're tensing your upper body when you run - even if it seems iike you're not. Relax your upper body as much as possible, You don't need top "pump" your arms when you run.

Do a full body warm up and stretch before you run, not only your legs and relax when you run, as strange as it may sound.

M

Pyrene

Longterm Registered User
hmm interesting, ive never paid any attention to how im really running, i just focus on putting one foot infront of another and not tripping up

protectasia

Longterm Registered User
Can't help you specifically with the shoulder, but can with other joints/parts of the body.

As a veteran of both back and knees surgery, I cant emphasis enough the need for a really good quality shoe, may save you a lot of problems further down the line.

sweed

Full Registered User
I'm not a doctor either but I have had similar symptoms when I was a teenager, my sports teacher at this time advised me to do a few series of push ups before I go for a run and it worked for me.