Young Doorman..

cmcf

hello ive been interested in becoming a doorman for a few years now for a bit of extra income, im 18 and very mature for my age. Ive been learning krav maga for a few years now. i was wondering if many head doormen would take in an 18 yearold and what are my chances of getting a job.

Welcome to the forum cmcf.

It will always be difficult at your young age to get onto the door scene, aim for event work to build up your experience and to build your dealing with conflict experience. Event work pay is normally near minimum wage but it will help you gain the experience.

Hi cmcf, I am 21 and I got a job quite easily, I'm not the biggest of guys but it's more of who you know in the door world, someone who knows what you can do, like mally said try out events and build up experience and go from there.

Hi cmcf, I am 21 and I got a job quite easily, I'm not the biggest of guys but it's more of who you know in the door world, someone who knows what you can do, like mally said try out events and build up experience and go from there.

how do you mean " what you can do" ?

how do you mean " what you can do" ?

bothbarrels,

I will presume ETH4N "means" he is not just a jacket filler.
What he said does makes sense in, "it is not what you know, it's who you know"
He might train 6 days a week at a MMA gym or similar, and the door team he has joined "know what he can do"

That would be the old school attitude, and one I trust, as when the shit does hit the fan;
I am looking at my team and not for them! If you know what I mean.

cmcf,
Try contacting the main company in your area, the doors tend to need more man power when the football season is on and more so on the run up to the XMAS, 86 sleeps in case you are interested!
Also try speaking to the door teams at venues you visit, they will know who is recruiting and when.
Best of luck !

Regards

premier

bothbarrels,

I will presume ETH4N "means" he is not just a jacket filler.