Further tips on catching shoplifters?

shogunronin

Full Registered User
So I have been working extremely hard for just under two years to get better at this profession and still finding it difficult. In my job I work in a big supermarket and I have to stay by the door for all of my shift uniformed. I have categorised the elements of catching shoplifters and that is

CCTV Element: I truly believe this is not a 'searcher' but more of a hot spot watcher and observing amateur shoplifters. The modern day shoplifter is not only the scruffy looking chav, but can now be the high class businessman. This means that we have to watch PRODUCTS instead of people (unless we find someone acting super suspicious) or observing someone who might be nesting.

- At the moment I am struggling with this element as I seem to be flicking through the cameras and every single person who I observe just doesn't do anything wrong or steal. It is also difficult for me to watch hot spots as I have to meet and greet customers. - Any more tips for me?

The door element: This is where you stand by the door and check random receipts. I think having that 'inner intuition' when someone has stolen something is something you have to have by trial and error. Nowadays if something looks suspicious i'll do receipt checks. On low-risk customers I will be straightforward and ask for a receipt but high-risk customers I will set the EAS off and check the receipt that way.

indicators someone might have stolen something from my experience

- Romanians. If any enter your store watch them as most of the time they're stealing.

- If someone with a bag for life walks from the area which is not the till section (where paid customers walk from) something is wrong and is worth a high-risk receipt check method.

- Someone whos shopping is placed perfectly in their trolley and stacked well.

= I am getting better at this 'door element' and spotting nesting. Does anyone have any tips for this ?